Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools

Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to the 2018-2019 Teachers of the Year for ECPPS.

Ms. Marie Alvarez, art teacher for Weeksville Elementary School, was named the 2018-2019 District Teacher of the Year.

School-Level Teachers of the Year for 2018-2019 include: Karen Kidd (Central Elementary), Liz Wooten* (ECP Early College), Shelby Hughes (ECMS), Samuel Stallings (HL Trigg), Sabrina Sears (J.C. Sawyer Elementary), Sandy James (Northeastern High School), Heather Meads (Northside Elementary), Jill Turner (P.W. Moore Elementary), John Lee* (PCHS), Maryann Everett (Pasquotank Elementary), Novilla Turner (RRMS), Dawn Stallings (Sheep-Harney Elementary), Marie Avarez** (Weeksville Elementary).

*District Finalist for TOY **District TOY

2018-2019 Teachers of the Year

Mrs. Rachel Benton is the ECPPS District Teacher of the Year for 2017-2018.

She serves Northside Elementary School as the instructional coach. We are proud of Mrs. Benton and are appreciative of her service to our district, community and most of all…..our children. Mrs. Benton was serving at Central Elementary School as an elementary teacher when she was selected at Teacher of the Year.

Congratulations to Mrs. Benton and all ECPPS Teachers of the Year.


Central ElementaryRachel Benton*
ECPPS Teacher of the Year
J.C. Sawyer ElementaryStella Duhaime
Northside ElementaryMichelle Mazzola
P.W. Moore ElementarySarah Jackson
Pasquotank ElementarySarah Brewer
Sheep-Harney ElementaryFran Worthington
Weeksville ElementaryDoug Wardwell
Elizabeth City MiddleTerrie Wilson*
District Finalist
River Road MiddleTia Carver
Northeastern HighJoshua Sawyer*
District Finalist
Pasquotank County HighSharon Riddick
H.L. Trigg Community SchoolSharron Bell